League of Women Voters' guide to all of the candidates | Menotomy Matters' election guide

Arlington vote, map logo

UPDATED, April 10: The annual town election is being held Saturday, April 10, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Have you submitted your ballot in the three drop boxes in town? You can track your ballot here >>

ACMi live election reports: ACMi cable TV goes on the air live just as the polls close at 8 p.m. and announce the results as they come in as well as provide other election-related interviews and analysis. See these channels: Public (Comcast 8, RCN 629, Verizon 31) and Government (Comcast 22, RCN 614, Verizon 26).

Vote in 2021 >> | Select Board debate >> | Assessors' debate >>

Housing Authority candidate profile: Kelda K. Fontenot

Select Board candidate profiles:Jennifer Susse | Eric Helmuth

School Committee candidate profile -- Jeffrey D. Thielman 

Board of Assessors' candidate profile -- Guillermo S. Hamlin

Campaign-finance reports that must be filed eight days before an election are available here (scroll down) >> 

Vote-by-mail option extended: State law now clarifies that any person taking precautions relating to Covid-19 qualifies for an absentee ballot by reason of physical disability.

You do not need to provide a reason on the form. Any Arlington voter who chooses to vote by mail is encouraged to submit a written request for a ballot as soon as possible. Complete instructions, including what to do if you can’t download the form are available on the town elections page >>Candidates' Night held

The League of Women Voters of Arlington and Envision Arlington sponsored Candidates’ Night, held Wednesday, March 31, at 7:30 p.m., a virtual moderated debate providing the community with an opportunity to learn about the candidates running for townwide offices.

Read a summary here >>

View the event live on ACMi’s Government Channel (Comcast 22, RCN 614, Verizon 26) or streamed live here >>

Facebook video here >> | Youtube video will show here >>

The public was encouraged to submit questions for the candidates. Email candidate questions to envision at town.arlington.ma.us, indicating to which townwide office your questions relate. Because of the logistics of the virtual event, the deadline for submitting questions was Tuesday, March 23. 

Town Meeting candidates

Envision Arlington was the host for a virtual Town Meeting Candidates' Night, held Wednesday, March 24, at 7:30 p.m. Local issues were discussed with candidates from your precinct who are running to be your representatives in Town Meeting.

There were individual break-out rooms for each precinct.

The League of Women Voters, in partnership with Envision Arlington, invited all candidates for Town Meeting to submit personal statements. Statements, limited to 1,500 characters, were due by 7 p.m. Sunday, March 21. Statements are available here >>

Here's the list to date, first for townwide offices from the town website (* = candidate for reelection):

Select Board
(2 seats for 3-year terms)

Jennifer R. Susse (applied 12/16/20, certified 1/25/21)
John R. Hurd* (applied 12/16/20, certified 2/1/21)
Eric D. Helmuth (applied 12/17/20, certified 1/5/21)

School Committee
(2 seats for 3-year terms)

Jane P. Morgan* (applied 12/17/20, certified 1/7/21)
Jeffrey D. Thielman* (applied 12/18/20, certified 1/22/21)

Board of Assessors
(1 seat for 3-year term: Kevin Feeley was reelected in 2018)

Kevin P. Feeley* (applied 2/4/21, certified 2/18/21)
Guillermo S. Hamlin (applied 12/18/20, certified 1/26/21)
Phillip P. Lohnes (applied 1/8/2021, certified 2/19/21)

Housing Authority
(1 seat for 5-year term)

Nicholas C. Mitropoulos* (applied 1/7/21, certified 2/16/21)
Kelda Fontenot (applied 2/19/21, certified 2/22/21)

An additional 1-year remainder term is occupied by a vacancy appointment. On Nov. 30, Fiorella Badilla was appointed to fill a vacancy left by Richard Murray.

Town turnout, 2000-2018

Town Meeting member seats on the ballots

Precinct 1 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 2 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 3 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 4 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 5 – 4 seats for 3 years, 1 seat for 2 years
Precinct 6 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 7 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 8 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 9 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 10 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 11 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 12 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 13 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 14 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 15 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 16 – 4 seats for 3 years, 1 seat for 1 year
Precinct 17 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 18 – 4 seats for 3 years, 1 seat for 2 years
Precinct 19 – 4 seats for 3 years, 1 seat for 1 year
Precinct 20 – 4 seats for 3 years
Precinct 21 – 4 seats for 3 years

Voter Registration

Look up your voter registration status especially if you recently moved or changed your registration from one community to another. You are only eligible to vote in the community where you are currently registered.

Last day to register for the April 10, 2021 election is March 19, 2021. 

There is a detailed explanation of the registration process on the state website.

You can register online through the Secretary of State website if you have a MA drivers license. You can also print the voter registration form and submit it by mail, Town Hall drop box or by This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. a scan or photo of the signed form.

Candidates will need to submit a form to the town clerk requesting nomination papers. This differs from past years because Town Hall is closed to the public.

Request for Nomination Papers - Townwide Office

Request for Nomination Papers - Town Meeting Member

The 2021 Election Calendar contains the deadlines for various candidate forms. 

June 2020 results link 

April 4, 2021: Select Board, assessor responses highlight Candidates' Night
March 16, 2021: Fontenot challenges AHA incumbent, backs inclusion
March 18, 2021: AHA chairman seeks reelection, touts experience 
March 8, 2021: CPA, 61, seeks seat on Board of Assessors
Feb. 12, 2021: Curro resigns from board 2 months early
Jan. 27, 2021: Hurd seeks reelection to Select Board
Jan. 17, 2021: Precinct 14 meeting member eyes Board of Assessors
Jan. 13, 2021: Helmuth, in first Select Board run, eyes change via listening
Jan. 3, 2021: Susse calls housing her focus in Select Board run

 Dec. 1, 2020: 

Curro declines to seek reelection to Select Board


This news announcement was published Saturday, Dec. 19, 2020, and updated April 10.